Where's the Donuts? Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 08 Dec 2019 00:23:40 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Mar 31, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-31-2016.html <p>Morning basketball&nbsp;</p> Thu, 31 Mar 2016 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 30, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-30-2016.html <p>About 3 after Jaguars practice. Warren-Manette bridges loop from Bremerton High. 24:00&nbsp;</p> <p><em>supernova glide</em></p> Wed, 30 Mar 2016 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 26, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-26-2016.html <p>Quick loop at Illahee, then as I started for a second loop I ran into Jon Buesch, walking his dog. I stopped to say hello, and half an hour later we were still there talking. So I figured it was time to bag the run and go get some dinner.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 26 Mar 2016 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 24, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-24-2016.html <p>Only two of us showed for morning hoops, so after Grant and I shot jumpers for awhile I went and ran two miles on the treadmill, then went to work.&nbsp;</p> <p><em>supernova glide blue&nbsp;</em></p> Thu, 24 Mar 2016 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 22, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-22-2016.html <p>Morning run and my left ankle and achilles took awhile to warm up. Still pretty stiff when I wake up.&nbsp;</p> <p>Through Manette on 11th, over the Manette Bridge and then looped around Evergreen, stopped and checked out the new dock. Then back the same way. 30:00&nbsp;</p> <p><em>supernova glide blue --&nbsp;124</em></p> Tue, 22 Mar 2016 06:00:00 Sun, Mar 20, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-20-2016.html <p>Rainy afternoon so I went up to the Y and ran for 30 minutes.&nbsp;</p> <p><em>supernova glide blue</em></p> Sun, 20 Mar 2016 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 19, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-19-2016.html <p>Morning basketball, ran full court for an hour. I didn&#39;t get a run in afterward because the day was packed wire-to-wire. So a little underwhleming for mileage this week, but I did exercise five days and other than a little ankle stiffness hanging around, I feel fine.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 19 Mar 2016 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 18, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-18-2016.html <p>Illahee Preserve in the morning, quiet in there. 33:00</p> <p><em>supernova glide blue</em></p> Fri, 18 Mar 2016 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 17, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-17-2016.html <p>Morning basketball&nbsp;</p> Thu, 17 Mar 2016 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 15, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-15-2016.html <p>Bremerton Jaguars season has begun! I ran about 2 miles with two of the middle school boys on our team, around an 8/min pace, then two laps of 100m stride/jog/stride/jog.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 15 Mar 2016 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 14, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-14-2016.html <p>Morning basketball&nbsp;</p> Mon, 14 Mar 2016 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 12, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-12-2016.html <p>Warren-Manette bridges loop on a quiet, damp morning. Cut it off a little early and walked in about half a mile, my ankle bugged me the whole time and then a little hip pointer developed. I&#39;m just not all healed yet (at least I hope that&#39;s all it is). I didn&#39;t feel quite as wiped as I have on other runs post-marathon, so hopefully I&#39;m recovering some energy now.&nbsp;</p> <p><em>supernova glide blue&nbsp;-- 111</em></p> Sat, 12 Mar 2016 07:00:00 Fri, Mar 11, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-11-2016.html <p>Evening run at the Y on the treadmill, 8/min pace for about 30 minutes. A little stiff in the ankle and then just a bit on my left achilles/calf.&nbsp;</p> <p><em>supernova glide blue -- 107</em></p> Fri, 11 Mar 2016 07:00:00 Thu, Mar 10, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-10-2016.html <p>Wet and windy morning, ran an abbreviated version of a Shore Drive loop. Left ankle is still pretty sore.&nbsp;</p> <p><em>brooks cascadia 10</em></p> Thu, 10 Mar 2016 07:00:00 Sun, Mar 06, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-06-2016.html <p>Easy afternoon run in Illahee Preserve, back at home and somewhat back on Pacific Standard Time. All soreness is now gone, a week after the race. My ankel and foot didn&#39;t bother me at all either, though I can feels some little twings when stretching. A little low on energy yet, but that&#39;ll come back soon enough. No watch.&nbsp;</p> <p><em>supernova glide blue&nbsp;</em></p> <p>Now that the race is behind me, and hopefully the frustrations that led up to it, my goals are to be consistent for the next two months in the 30-35 mpw range, strength train once a week, add a little speed work and stay healthy. Jaguars track season begins in a week, so at least I&#39;ll be out on the track with the kids a few times a week.&nbsp;</p> Sun, 06 Mar 2016 07:00:00 Thu, Mar 03, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-03-2016.html <p>In Yokosuka, an easy morning run on the boardwalk at Mabori-kaigon. Sunny and brisk, and my legs loosened up after a mile or so. Still some aches and pains (left ankel and right shin/top of foot) but most soreness has worked itself out.&nbsp;</p> <p><em>supernova glide blue</em></p> Thu, 03 Mar 2016 07:00:00 Tue, Mar 01, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-01-2016.html <p>Another half day of hiking up shrines and parks in frigid&nbsp;Kyoto. Legs a little less sore, though not exactly enjoying all the stairs that subway stations feature. The escalators only seem to go up! Don&#39;t they know &quot;down&quot; is the direction that hurts?!&nbsp;</p> <p>(Ultimately all that walking was a really good thing, and by Thursday my legs weren&#39;t sore at all.)&nbsp;</p> Tue, 01 Mar 2016 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 29, 2016 http://nelson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-29-2016.html <p>Hiked Mt. Inari in Kyoto, which was absolutely torture on my quads, both up and down. Yikes. But I had to get some sight-seeing in. So cold compared to Sunday, which meant we truly were blessed with a good weather race day.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 29 Feb 2016 07:00:00